First Year Follow-Up with Jasmin Dhanjal

This past summer we introduced several students from of our MBA Class of 2015. As these students finish up their first year of the MBA program, we hope to catch-up with them and see how they are enjoying themselves so far. This follow-up is with Jasmin Dhanjal, you can read his introductory blog at the following site: http://ubmba.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/new-student-profile-jasmin-dhanjal/ .

Jasmin Dhanjal

Jasmin Dhanjal

What has surprised you most about the MBA program?

What has surprised me the most about the MBA program was how great the professors, faculty, and staff of the school were. Being from UB as an undergrad, I was expecting the same large school feel from the MBA program. I was wrong, the people within the program are invested in their students and will do all that is possible to see them succeed. This was a pleasant surprise, I am extremely happy with the program and the people within the program.

What has been the most challenging aspect?

The most challenging aspect about the whole program was the time commitment required. With the different classes and the assignments for each, there wasn’t a time where I didn’t have something to do. It was nice in the fact that it made me accomplished, I discovered that I was able to handle so many project simultaneously. However, I did make the whole year fly by, before I knew it, we were done with the first year of the program.

What has been the most rewarding aspect?

The lifelong friends that I have gained is probably the most rewarding aspect of the program. I thought that this graduate program was going to be extremely competitive, but from the first day, and throughout the year, my peers have proved me wrong. We were all in the same boat, and we helped each other out as best as we could. The friends I have made, and the professional network that I have gained as a result will be with me for the rest of my life.

Do you have any plans for this summer?

Since I am a dual DDS/MBA student, I have an internship lined up with the UB School of Dental Medicine. I will be a Business Analyst within their administrative offices, and will work with various departments throughout the summer until I start Dental School in August.

What words of wisdom can you offer to future MBA’s?

The one thing that helped me throughout the first year was a piece of advice given to me by a 2nd year when I felt overwhelmed. The first year is going to be busy, there are a lot of classes each with their own assignments and group projects, you will feel like you can’t do it and are falling behind. But the thing to remember is that your peers are there with you, you alone are not going through this experience. Take time for yourself, and remember to have a little fun every now and then.

Being from a science background and being a dual degree student with the Dental School, the MBA program has given me a lot of insight into what I am capable of and as a result I have learned a lot about myself. My peers and the faculty and staff within the School of Management have really facilitated this.

 

 

4 Responses to “First Year Follow-Up with Jasmin Dhanjal”


  1. 1 Greystone Dental and Orthodontics June 6, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about dentist.

    Regards

  2. 2 zendesk.com June 19, 2014 at 12:42 am

    dr oz rapid weight loss diet

  3. 3 willamettelive.com June 19, 2014 at 11:41 am

    best gaming laptop under 1000

  4. 4 http://Meaningisoda.Roon.io/ August 20, 2014 at 2:15 am

    what does fish stand for like yolo


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

