UB School of Management

Home »

New Student Profile: Stephen Thompson

The Graduate Programs Office is preparing to welcome this years incoming class of students who will begin the MBA program in August. We are excited to gain a new group of fresh faces within the walls of the School of Management. We are sharing this excitement by posting short profiles throughout the summer introducing the incoming class. We hope you will take the time to get to know our newest UB MBA’s as we share some of their experiences and interests.

Stephen Thompson:

Stephen Thompson

Hometown:  I am from East Aurora, New York.

Graduated from:  I attended SUNY Geneseo.

Major: I majored in Psychology.

Why UB?  I chose UB because of its stellar reputation, internship and networking opportunities, and recommendations from peers.

Why an MBA? I hope to gain business knowledge, technical skills, networking resources, and real world experience.

Summer plans: This summer, I will be taking Calculus at Erie Community College, teaching a language remediation course for students with dyslexia and other language-based learning differences at The Gow School, and competing in soccer and golf leagues. I plan on taking a few weekend trips to nearby cities with my girlfriend and spending a week in Bethany Beach, Maryland.

Something you want to learn:  I wish I had the knowledge and skills to be a mechanic. It would be very worthwhile and gratifying to know exactly what’s wrong with a car and then be able to fix it.

Someone you’d like to meet: I would like to meet my grandfathers. I never knew them, and I wish I could have a conversation with them.

Someone you’d like to have as a mentor:  I would choose Bruce Springsteen as my mentor because I am a huge Boss fan, and I am sure he could share a lot of life lessons and experiences.

The hardest thing you have ever done:  It has been very hard for me to leave my current job. Teaching is an extremely rewarding profession, but I felt that entering the School of Management at UB would help me grow professionally and personally.

Fun Fact:  I have an identical twin. My brother and I attended the same college and taught together at the same school. I am finally getting away from him!

 

 

 


Leave a comment